Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2020 now at Cooper Gallery in Dundee

Cowboy Reflect Me, R&F Mo

While our exhibition programme is once again on hold due to the new lockdown, we are thrilled that Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2020 is now on show at Cooper Gallery in Dundee from 13 November to 19 December 2020, Tuesday to Saturday from 11am to 4pm. Free tickets available at Eventbrite. 

Featuring 71 works by 56 artists selected out of 4274 entries from 42 countries, the exhibition includes works shortlisted for the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2020 and Working Drawing Award.

The exhibition reflects a broad scope of contemporary drawing practice produced by artists, designers and makers at all stages of their careers—from students to established artists—located across the UK, France, Italy, Spain, The Netherlands and Turkey.

The Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize has an established reputation as the UK’s most important annual exhibition of drawing. Led by Professor Anita Taylor, Dean of Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design at the University of Dundee, and supported by the Trinity Buoy Wharf Trust, the Drawing Prize exhibition is known for its influential role in promoting and celebrating contemporary drawing practice and championing the role and value of drawing as a vital means of communication and expression.

Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2020 was selected by Sophia Yadong Hao, Principal Curator of Cooper Gallery DJCAD; artist Ian McKeever RA; and Frances Morris, Director of Tate Modern.

The Working Drawing Award 2020 was selected by Sir Ian Blatchford, Director of the Science Museum, London; Piers Gough CBE RA, Architect; and Sophie McKinlay, Director of Programme at V&A Dundee.

The artists shortlisted for the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2020 are:

Becky Allen / Setenay Alpsoy / Lucy Anderson / Iain Andrews / Anna Barratt / Akash Bhatt / Nigel Bird / Andy Black / Carolyn Black / Mandy Bonnell / Siân Bowen & Simón Granell / Rebecca Bramwell / Simon Brewster / Chris Bruce / Camilla Brueton / Nina Chua / Mark Clay / Bob Deakin / Joe Dean / Demeter Dykes / Yutavia George / Tricia Gillman / Nicola Grellier / Nancy Haslam-Chance / Laura Jacobs / Christopher Jones / Sandy Kendall / Frank Leuwer / Cheryl Lewis / M.Lohrum / Rae Fior Lowe / Kay McCrann / Helena McGrath / Holly Mills /  R & F Mo / James Robert Morrison / Hormazd Narielwalla / Ruth Richmond / Isabel Rock / Louise Schmid / Seamus Staunton / Peter Sutton / Wai Yin Ryan Tung / Catrin Webster / Sally Wood / Eleanor Wood / Ayeshah Zolghadr

The artists shortlisted for the Working Drawing Award are:

Jeanette Barnes / Myyen Dang / Rachel Duckhouse / Malcolm Franklin / Jack Green / Ben Johnson / Zihao Mei / Savvas Papasavva

Download the TBWDP20 exhibition handout here.

An online event programme expanding the depth and spread of drawing accompanies the exhibition at Cooper Gallery:

Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2020 | Opening Event & Panel Discussion | Friday 13 November 2020, 6–7.30pm


Nina Chua| A Prompt for a Drawing | 13 November – 19 December 2020

Rhona Jack | Freehand Weaving | Tuesday 24 November, 1–3pm

IN AND EASE  | A colloquium with artists Alastair MacLennan, Sandra Johnston Roddy Hunter and Tania Kovats exploring 'interbeing' between drawing and event |  26 November 2020, 6–8pm

Paul Noble | Time draws... | 
Thursday 3 December 2020, 1-2pm

Adam Benmakhlouf | As Empathic As It Is Unfaithful: An Illustrated Talk on Drawing |Tuesday 8 December 2020, 6–8pm

Look our for the Drawing is Free in Conversations too - 5pm most Mondays - including with Tania Kovats, artist & Professor of Drawing & Making at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design; and exhibiting artists, Rachel Duckhouse and Louise Schmid.